

#### Springvale Learning and Activities Centre Inc.

# MINUTES Annual General Meeting 2023 held at SLAC Wednesday, 8 November 2023.

#### 1. Meeting declared open at 7.18pm

Leah Douglas acknowledged the traditional owners of the land and welcomed all to the meeting.

Leah acknowledged special guests: Rod Bryson (Dandenong Community Learning Centre) and Biljana Komnenovic (Greater Dandenong Council)

Leah thanked all SLAC members, staff and guests for making time to attend the AGM.

#### 2. Present:

**SLAC members:** Beverley Douglas, Leah Douglas, David Hawkins, Adel Dafla, Binita Hada Maskey, Tuan Tran, Emma Sayegh, Angela Holl.

<u>SLAC staff:</u> Kay De La Rue, Michelle Trifunov, Mariela Sonn, Sonali Gunasekara, Susan McCracken, Megan Fisher.

**Invited guests:** Rod Bryson and Biljana Komnenovic

#### 3. Apologies Received:

Centre Members: Ranka Trisic,

**Invited Guests:** Cr Richard Lim, Be Ha

**Motion:** Apologies to be accepted.

Moved: Bev Douglas Seconded: Binita Hada Maskey Carried

#### 4. Minutes of 2022 AGM, held on 9 November 2022.

Copies of the minutes provided to all in attendance.

**Motion:** Minutes of AGM 2022 to be accepted as true and correct record of the event.

Moved: Tuan Tran Seconded: Binita Hada Maskey Carried

#### 5. To receive and consider SLAC Annual Report on activities in 2022-2023.

#### 5.1 **President's Report 2022-2023**

Leah acknowledged excellent work of SLAC Committee, staff and volunteers over the year and encouraged everyone to read the Annual Report.

Leah announced a long standing committee member who the Committee would like to award with the Life Membership of SLAC.

An annual general meeting may award by a two thirds majority any member to a position of Life Member, so long as the member has not given less than ten years exceptional service to the Association.

Leah called for the vote in favour awarding Tuan Tran with the Life Membership. The AGM voted unanimously, no opposition was forthcoming.

Leah handed the Life Member badge and memorial plaque to Tuan.

Tuan thanked Leah, the Committee and all in attendance.

#### 5.2 CEO's Report 2022-2023

In absence of the CEO, Leah Douglas asked the meeting to refer to the Annual report but gave a summarized version. Thanking all tutors and all staff, particularly Kay and Michelle for finalizing the closure of Shop 2 in such a short time frame.

**Motion:** SLAC Annual Report 2022-2023 to be accepted.

Moved: David Hawkins Seconded: Emma Sayegh Carried

#### 6. Financial Report for the year ended 30 June 2023.

Copies of the auditor's report provided to all in attendance.

David presented his report mentioning that SLAC's financial practices continue to remain at high standards and the long term challenges are the unpredictable changes to government funding and ever increasing operational costs. David thanked Committee and staff for their support.

**Motion:** The SLAC financial report for 2022-2023 to be accepted.

Moved: Binita Hada Maskey Seconded: Bev Douglas Carried

## 7. Appointment of the Auditor for 2023-2024 financial year - Badaway and Associates

Motion: The AGM appoint Badaway and Associates Pty. Ltd auditors for 2023-2024.

Moved: David Hawkins Seconded: Tuan Tran Carried

#### 8. Review of annual membership fees.

Current annual membership fee is \$5. Leah invited for suggestions from the floor. None were forthcoming.

**Motion:** SLAC annual membership fee for 2023-2024 to be \$5.

Moved:Binita Hada Maskey Seconded: Emma Sayegh Carried



### 9. Election of Committee for 2023-2024. Elections Chaired by Rod Bryson

Rod declared all positions on the Committee vacant.

He announced eight nominations for the Executive and the Committee received prior to the AGM and listed on the Agenda.

Position	Nominee	Nominated by	Seconded by
President	Leah Douglas	Emma Sayegh	Adel Dafla
Treasurer	David Hawkins	Leah Douglas	Binita Maskey
Vice-	Bev Douglas	David Hawkins	Emma Sayegh
president			
Secretary	Adel Dafla	David Hawkins	Leah Douglas
Committee	Tuan Tran	Adel Dafla	Leah Douglas
	Ranka Trisic	Bev Douglas	David Hawkins
	Emma Sayegh	Adel Dafla	Binita Maskey
	Binita Maskey	Emma Sayegh	Bev Douglas
	Vacant		
	Vacant		

Rod noted two vacant positions on the Committee and invited nominations from the floor.

Angela Holl was nominated by Leah Douglas and Seconded by Adel Dafla, no opposition received.

Rod announced 9 positions on the committee filled and elections completed.

Rod congratulated the newly elected Committee and wished them well into the new year.

Leah thanked Rod for stepping up to chair the election.

Leah Douglas declared the meeting closed and invited everyone to partake the refreshments kindly prepared by Bev and network.

#### 10. Meeting declared closed at 7.42pm.